Radical by David Platt

Radical by David Platt is one of the few books I would consider “life changing” and is definitely in the top 10 – if not top 5 – most influential books I have ever read.  Dr. Platt challenged me in many ways, more than I can include in a brief review here, but the one thing I have been constantly reminded of and had a renewed understanding and appreciation of is the grace of God in my life today.  And as I reflect further on the grace God has shown me individually I am more motivated to respond to Him in a lifestyle that shares his love with those around me.  I am more convinced than ever that I need to do a better – meaning more intentional – job of sharing Jesus with people I come in contact with every day; and I also need to be prepared to share Christ with those outside my own little circle of influence.

I would highly recommend this book to everyone who is serious about their faith, but I would caution you that you may walk away convinced you need to dramatically (ie, Radically) change your attitude and actions.  Dr. Platt bases everything in the book soundly on scripture and shares very moving and personal testimonies throughout the book that serve to both challenge and convict readers to live out the life God has called them to live.  I remember specifically, over 10 years ago, sitting on a couch several months after the death of my younger, teenage sister.  I was angry with God and couldn’t understand why he had allowed her to die.  He very directly spoke to me and said, “Tom, it is time for you to either live what you say you believe, or change what you believe to match how you live.”  That was a turning point in my life that radically altered my faith and trust in Him – for the better.  This book is now serving that same purpose in my life today.

You can download a free sample of chapter one by clicking here.

Rate this Review

One disclaimer, I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, but am not required to post a complimentary review in exchange for it.  Even if I had not received it for free it would have been worth paying twice what it cost.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

